University of Malta





The University of Malta is the country's principal Higher Education Institute, and its only university.

There are nearly 11,000 students at the university, including over 650 international students from 77 different countries, following full-time or part-time degree and diploma courses, many of them run on the modular or credit system. A basic Foundation Studies Course enables international high school students who have completed their secondary or high school education overseas but who do not have the necessary entry requirements, to qualify for admission to an undergraduate degree course at the University of Malta.

The main campus is situated at Msida. There are two other campuses. One is the Valletta campus which is housed in the Old University Building which dates back to the founding of the Collegium Melitense and incorporates the Aula Magna. The other is the Gozo Campus on Malta’s sister-island, Gozo, where part-time evening degree and diploma courses in various areas of study are offered.

he University has thirteen faculties: Arts; Built Environment; Dental Surgery; Economics, Management & Accountancy; Education; Engineering; Health Sciences; Information & Communication Technology; Laws; Media & Knowledge Sciences; Medicine & Surgery; Science and Theology.

A number of interdisciplinary Institutes and Centres have been set up in various fields. The Institutes include Anglo-Italian Studies; Baroque Studies; Confucius; Criminology; Earth Systems; European Studies; Islands & Small States; Linguistics; Maltese Studies; Public Administration & Management; Physical Education & Sport; Sustainable Development; Sustainable Energy; Tourism, Travel & Culture; the the Edward de Bono Institute for the Design & Development of Thinking; the Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies and the Mediterranean Institute.

For the many courses at the university offered through English see


Courses offered through English