Aalto University





Aalto University was established in January 2010 as merger of three leading Finnish higher education institutes: Helsinki School of Economics, Helsinki University of Technology and University of Art and Design Helsinki. In 2011, the Aalto University School of Science and Technology was divided into four schools: School of Chemical Technology, School of Electrical Engineering School of Engineering, and School of Science. The six schools are all leading and renowned institutions in their respective fields.

Aalto University has a student enrolment of 19 516 students, including 2 312 at Masters level.

Currently, the main campuses of Aalto University are in Helsinki and Espoo. The School of Art and Design is located in the Arabia district and the School of Economics in Toolo. The four Schools of Technology and university management, or the majority of staff and students in Aalto University, are based in Otaniemi. 

Courses offered through English


It is recommended that foreign students look for housing through one of the established student housing associations.Rent is from about €300 to €400 per month.