University of Freiburg





The University of Freiburg was founded in 1457. It offers undergraduate and graduate studies as well as PhD qualifications in all the major disciplines : the humanities, natural and engineering sciences, medicine, law, and theology. This diversity also provides an ideal environment for innovative interdisciplinary studies. Over 21,000 students from over 100 nations study in over 160 degree programs at 11 faculties.

In 2007 the University of Freiburg was one of nine top universities in Germany to be honoured in the Excellence Initiative for outstanding research.

Included amongst its many centuries-old faculties are:

The Faculty of Humanities, which have a long and illustrious tradition at the University of Freiburg. Many outstanding accomplishments in the fields of philosophy, history, and the philology of various European languages are linked to the names and publications of scholars from Freiburg.

The Economics & Business Institutes of the university, associated with the names of Walter Eucken, who founded the moderately liberal Freiburg School and Nobel laureate Friedrich August von Hayek, focus mainly on political economy.

The Faculty of Mathematics and Physics covers the entire spectrum of mathematical disciplines. In physics research the university focuses on nuclear physics and high-energy and elementary particle physics.

The Faculty of Biology, where world-renowned biologists such as Weismann, Spemann, and Oehlkers made revolutionary contributions to developmental biology which set the stage for modern genetic research.

Courses offered through English


Student accommodation costs about Eur 250 per month, either in the private rental market or in university [but not university-owned] dorms