National Higher Education System

Malta has one university: the University of Malta. However, higher education in the country is in the process of becoming a binary system following the foundation of the Malta College of Arts, Science and Technology (MCAST), which provides vocational education.

Due to funding constraints, the University of Malta offers some programmes only every other year in order to maximise course offerings with optimum funding usage. Nearly 11,000 students currently study at the University. Most Bachelor degree courses run for three years, including law, which in other common law countries is often lengthier


The Maltese Government provides free university education to eligible residents with sufficient qualifications for entry. Under EU rules, citizens of other EU countries are entitled to the same fee levels as Maltese students.

Grants & Loans

No Grants or loans are available for EU students

Application Process