National Higher Education System

Slovenia has four universities, three art academies or professional colleges, and ten higher education institutions (Samostojni visokošolski zavodi) established as private institutions.

Slovenia’s higher education system has a twin-track structure: professionally oriented (vocational) higher education and academic higher education.

Higher vocational education is provided by higher vocational colleges that offer two-year vocational education at the sub-degree level (short-cycle, ISCED 5B). Graduates can continue their professional studies at the degree-level.

Academic higher education is offered by public or private universities and single higher education institutions (not beloning to any university). Universities and single faculties can offer both academic and professional study programmes, while professional colleges offer only professional study programmes


Public higher education is free of charge for native full-time students and for students from EU countries.

Grants & Loans

There is no government guaranteed student loan system in place in Slovenia

Application Process

The universities have a centralised application registraton portal, with two entry rounds: February/March and August